College of Engineering

COE student receives Honorable Mention in the 2017 Goldwater Scholars Competition

Travis Kotzur, a College of Engineering biomedical engineering major and Honors College student, has received an Honorable Mention in the 2017 Goldwater Scholars Competition. Peggy Goldwater Clay, Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation, announced that the Trustees awarded 240 scholarships for the 2017-2018 academic year to undergraduate sophomores and juniors from the United States and 307 nominees were named as Honorable Mentions. UTSa College of Science student Sara Dibrell was named a 2017 Goldwater Scholar, and COE student Cory Nguyen also received an Honorable Mention.

“To have all three of our applicants recognized is truly an amazing accomplishment,” said Sean Kelly, dean of the UTSA Honors College. “This testifies to the great work of our students, the commitment of their advisors and mentors, and the high quality of our programs.”

The Goldwater Scholars were selected based on academic merit from a field of 1,286 natural sciences, mathematics, and engineering students nominated by the campus representatives from among 2,000 colleges and universities nationwide. Of those reporting, 133 of the Scholars are men, 103 are women, and virtually all intend to obtain a Ph.D. as their highest degree objective. Twenty-two Scholars are mathematics majors, 153 are science and related majors, 51 are majoring in engineering, and 14 are computer science majors. Many of the Scholars have dual majors in a variety of mathematics, science, engineering, and computer science.

The one and two year scholarships will cover the cost of tuition, fees, books, and room and board up to a maximum of $7,500 per year.

Goldwater Scholars have very impressive academic qualifications that have garnered the attention of prestigious post-graduate fellowship programs. Recent Goldwater Scholars have been awarded 89 Rhodes Scholarships, 127 Marshall Awards, 145 Churchill Scholarships, 96 Hertz Fellowships and numerous other distinguished awards like the National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships.

The Goldwater Foundation is a federally endowed agency established by Public Law 99-661 on November 14, 1986. The Scholarship Program honoring Senator Barry Goldwater was designed to foster and encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences, and engineering. The Goldwater Scholarship is the premier undergraduate award of its type in these fields.

Since its first award in 1989, the Foundation has bestowed 7,921 scholarships worth approximately 63 million dollars.

Courtesy The Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation